Local Government Commissioners

Local and Equal: does local government work for women? is a year-long commission funded by Barrow Cadbury and in partnership with the Local Government Information Unit.


The commission is jointly chaired by Dame Margaret Hodge MP and Councillor Cllr Gillian Keegan, Director of Women2Win.


Angela Mason Labour Councillor Camden & former Fawcett Chair
Anne Baldwin Women’s Local Government Society
Binita Mehta Former Conservative Group Leader, Watford Borough Council
Chris Naylor London Borough of Barking And Dagenahm
Deborah Cadman Suffolk County Council
Heather Wakefield Unison
Helen Edwards Department for Communities and Local Government
Jemima Olchawski Fawcett Society
Jen Pufky LGIU
Judith Blake Leeds City Council
Lauren Lucas LGIU
Nan Sloane Center for Women and Democracy
Pam Cole Women’s Budget Group
Sam Smethers Fawcett Society
Sarah Pickup LGA
Shaminder Takhar LSBU
Simon Woolley Operation Black Vote
Halla Gunnarsdóttir Women’s Equality Party
Rita Patel Operation Black Vote
Merel Husein-Ece Liberal Democrat Party